BackForwardTable of ContentsPreviousNext


Managing User Accounts

User management and authentication must always be used in conjunction with the following two security modes, which require use of a RADIUS server for user authentication and management.

You have the option of using either the internal RADIUS server embedded in the D-Link DWL-2210AP or an external RADIUS server that you provide. If you use the embedded RADIUS server, use this Administration Web page on the access point to set up and manage user accounts. If you are using an external RADIUS server, you will need to set up and manage user accounts on the Administrative interface for that server.

On the User Management page, you can create, edit, remove, and view client user accounts. Each user account consists of a user name and password. The set of users specified here represent approved clients that can log in and use one or more access points to access local and possibly external networks via your wireless network.

Note

Users specified here are clients of the access point(s) who use the APs as a connectivity hub, not administrators of the wireless network. Only those with the administrator username and password and knowledge of the administration URL can log in as an administrator and view or modify configuration settings.

Viewing User Accounts

User accounts are shown at the top of the screen under "User Accounts" User name, real name and status (enabled or disabled) are shown. You make modifications to an existing user account by first selecting the checkbox next to a user name and then choosing an action. (See Editing a User Account.)

Adding a User

To create a new user, do the following:

  1. Under "Add a User", provide information in the following fields.
    Field
    Description
    Username
    Provide a user name.
    User names are alphanumeric strings of up to 256 characters. Do not use special characters or spaces.
    Real Name
    For information purposes, provide the user's full name.
    There is a 256 character limit on real names.
    Password
    Specify a password for this user.
    Passwords are alphanumeric strings of up to 256 characters. Do not use special characters or spaces.
  2. When you have filled in the fields, click Add Account to add the account.
  3. The new user is then displayed in the "User Accounts". The user account is enabled by default when you first create it.

    Note

    A limit of 100 user accounts per access point is imposed by the Administration user interface. Network usage may impose a more practical limit, depending upon the demand from each user.

Editing a User Account

Once you have created a user account, it is displayed under "User Accounts" at the top of the User Management Administration Web page. To make modifications to an existing user account, first click the checkbox next to the user name so that the box is checked.

Then, choose an action such Edit, Enable, Disable, or Remove.

Enabling and Disabling User Accounts

A user account must be enabled for the user to log on as a client and use the access point.

You can enable or disable any user account. With this feature, you can maintain a set of user accounts and authorize or prevent users from accessing the network without having to remove or re-create accounts. This can come in handy in situations where users have an occasional need to access the network. For example, contractors who do work for your company on an intermittent but regular basis might need network access for 3 months at a time, then be off for 3 months, and back on for another assignment. You can enable and disable these user accounts as needed, and control access as appropriate.

Enabling a User Account

To enable a user account, click the checkbox next to the user name and click Enable.

A user with an account that is enabled can log on to the wireless access points in your network as a client.

Disabling a User Account

To disable a user account, click the checkbox next to the user name and click Disable.

A user with an account that is disabled cannot log on to the wireless access points in your network as a client. However, the user remains in the database and can be enabled later as needed.

Removing a User Account

To remove a user account, click the checkbox next to the user name and click Remove.

If you think you might want to add this user back in at a later date, you might consider disabling the user rather than removing the account altogether.

BackForwardTable of ContentsPreviousNext


Copyright © 2004 D-Link Systems, Inc.   All Rights Reserved.      About this Help

Glossary